Diu – Daman

Diu - Daman

Daman and Diu is a union territory in India. For over 450 years these coastal enclaves on the Arabian Sea coast were part of Portuguese India, along with Goa and Dadra and Nagar Haveli. Goa, Daman, and Diu were occupied by the Republic of India on December 19, 1961; Portugal did not recognize Indian rule in these territories until 1974. Goa, Daman, and Diu were administered as part of a single union territory until 1987, when Goa was granted statehood, leaving Daman and Diu as a separate union territory; each enclave constitutes one of the union territory’s two districts.

Daman and Diu is the second smallest union territory of India. During the early period, Daman and Diu were part of Goa.

HolidayBookie offers customized Diu DamanTourism Packages with wide range of tourism activities.

Language :The languages of state administrationare Gujarati, Agri, konkani, Damaniya, Marathi, Englisg, Hindi, Warli.

Religion: The Catholics are pastorally served by the Metropolitan Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Goa and Daman, which has its see in Goa and is the primatial see of all India.

Must Visit Places: Diu Fort, Gangeshwar temple, Nagaon beach, Mirasol Lake Garden,
St. Paul’s Church, Ghogla Beach, Jampore Beach.

Best time to Visit: October to May